September 13, 2012

It Has Been a Full Week... Kinda



  • Couldn't find any tape, it was super early in the morning and my only opportunity to wrap some presents... so I wrapped with a glue stick. I was desperately hoping for something to make this first birthday as a married couple kinda special. Glue stick is pretty special, no? 
  • Tried to cut some streamers so that things would feel a bit festive for a birthday. Didn't have much time to do it (did what I could during lunch one day at work) and again no tape. So I tied them to a light in the kitchen. Looks like a jellyfish. Jellyfish birthday decor is also kinda special, right?
  • Left my keys in the outside lock of our door, overnight. Didn't realize it until I couldn't find my keys the next morning. It occurred to me where they could be because I have done that twice before (not recently. It is like I do once every other year. Does that make it better?)
  • Cutting streamers at work made my hands blue. One of my coworkers came in while I was doing it and gave me a look as if to say "marriage means not having to try so hard" I tried to defend myself with "But he knows everything he is getting" and then my coworker, who has been married twelve years, said "welcome to marriage" and gave me another look. Ha! I showed Mr. coworker with my streamer jellyfish blob. 
  • We didn't work out this week or do some of the other stuff on the to do list. We did, however, watch every episode of the miniseries The Kennedy's which is now on Netflix. The whole thing got mixed reviews by historians and movie critics so I wasn't sure what to think. I am no expert on the Kennedy family so I don't really know how much accuracy there is in all little things portrayed.  I was born in the 80's and can really only be considered knowledgeable about things like Cyndi Lauper, Wilson Phillips,  and Girls Just Want to Have Fun. But, I thought it was pretty well acted (even Katie Holmes, who is never a favorite of mine) and we enjoyed it. Not saying every thing is perfectly accurate, not saying it isn't accurate. I am Just saying it was an interesting miniseries and we watched it instead of getting things done this week.  


  • We are going to the Bourne Legacy tonight and even though it also got mixed review, I am feeling pretty excited. Turns out being married means you go to fewer movies, at least we do. I always saw that happening and assumed it was because my married friends had kids. We don't have kids. Yet, we seem to frequent the theaters less and less. Maybe it is because there aren't that many movies that  we want to see. Maybe it is because when you are married you have to pay for more than one movie ticket. Maybe it is because we live within walking distance of Redbox and have Netflix and Amazon Prime streaming right to our TV. I kinda think it is because we no longer have to be "going out" all the time. There is so much pressure on singles to be going, and doing, and out, and socializing. I like staying in. Marriage suits me. But I am still excited for a movie tonight. I will be packing my purse full of treats, home popped popcorn, maybe some drinks, pair of socks in case of cold feet, and of course bring a small blanket. I take movie watching very seriously.

No comments: